Board Members

The District Chair is Kalen Jones who also represents the Moab City Council. His current term of office is through December 31, 2023.  Kalen’s email contact address is

The District Vice Chair is Kevin Fitzgerald who is one of the At-Large members.  He was reappointed to the Board in January 2021 and will be serving to December 31, 2024.  Kevin’s email contact address is

The District Treasurer is Mary McGann who also represents the Grand County Council.  Her current term of office is through December 31, 2022.  Mary’s email contact address is

Chad Harris is the newest At-Large member and joined the Board in March 2019. His current term of office is through December 31, 2023. Chad is the Environmental Manager for the Intrepid Potash plant near Moab. Chad’s email contact address is

Diane Ackerman represents the Town of Castle Valley and joined the Board in April 2020. Her current term of office is through December 31, 2025. Diane’s email contact address is

Administrative Staff

Operations Director:  Christopher Scovill joined the District in November 2018 bringing his extensive knowledge and experience in heavy equipment operations and construction management. Chris has a variety of health and safety training and is a Certified Manager of Landfill Operations (MOLO).

  • For operational and facility-related items, please contact Christopher Scovill, District Operations Director, at (435) 260-6121 or

Executive Assistant:  LJ Blackburn joined the District in August 2020 bringing a wealth of bookkeeping and administrative expertise to the organization. She is QuickBooks certified and over the course of her career has worked for non-profits, yoga instructors, restaurants, event planners, retail, and manufacturing.

  • For administrative, job postings, invoicing, and billing matters, please contact LJ Blackburn, District Executive Assistant, at (435) 259-6314 or

Equipment Operators

Adam Watkins is the most senior equipment operator at the District.  He has attended the Landfill Management Certification Class and passed his certification exam for technician level in August 2017. Adam operates at all three of the District’s facilities and supports the training of new operators.

Brandon Bertwell is the recycle center equipment operator.  He began working at the center as a volunteer when he was fifteen years old when it was operated by the Canyonlands Community Recycling.  He is now an employee of the District working predominantly in the recycle center and periodically assists in equipment operations at the two landfills.

Advanced Equipment Operator: Mike Randall joined the Solid Waste District in April 2021 bringing a wealth of knowledge in construction and heavy equipment operation.  Given Mike’s experience, he will primarily be supporting the operations at the Moab and Klondike Landfills.

Equipment Operator/Shop:  Herman Herrera joined the District in December 2018 and is a master of many trades. Husband, father, grandfather, and “lover of life,” Herman comes from the quiet hollows of the New Mexico Rio Grand Valley and has been in Southeastern Utah since 2003. Herman is also a volunteer at KZMU and DJs a weekly show on Sundays from 3pm-5pm entitled Entre Las Piedras (“Between the Stones”).

Advanced Equipment Operator: Curtis Hill has worked in the local waste management industry for over twenty years and rejoined the District in April 2019. Along with his extensive experience in heavy equipment operations and maintenance, Curt comes to work every day consistently exhibiting a hard work ethic and positive attitude.

Gatehouse Attendant: Ricky Childs joined the District in August 2019 as the Moab Landfill Gatehouse Attendant and has quickly shown his exemplary degree of customer service. Ricky grew up in Salt Lake City and relocated to Moab in 1996. Ricky enjoys working with the public and meeting new people every day.

Master Mechanic: Brad Woodard joined the District in September 2019 with a wealth of experience consisting of more than 20 years in heavy equipment repair and maintenance. From nearby Monticello, Utah, Brad graduated from Universal Technical Institute and is also an accomplished welder and fabricator. Brad has worked for Caterpillar, Chevrolet, Komatsu, and recently came from the mining industry prior to joining our team.

District Staff and Board Members pose in front of our new Bomag 772 Refuse Compactor at the Klondike Landfill in February 2020. Pictured from left to right are (TOP) Kevin Fitzgerald, Keith Rosewaren, Evan Tyrrell, and Adam Watkins (BOTTOM) Mary McGann, Chris Scovill, Curt Hill, Sam Mealey, and Brad Woodard.


The District employs seasonal laborers to help pick up litter as needed, especially at the Klondike Landfill.  In addition, individuals completing community service hours work with the District, predominantly at the Community Recycle Center.